Oct 20-24

I want to personally thank everyone that helped to contribute to what I understand was another great Fall Festival. Unfortunately I was unable to attend as I was attending the California Reading Association conference out of town. However, those of you that were there may have noticed I was still able to bid on my favorite golf basket via phone and thanks to Mrs. Diaz she ensured I had the highest bid! 🙂 I would be remiss if I didn’t give an extra special thank you to Dawn Mendoza and our FANTASTIC PTA! They are a shining example of how a motivated, involved group of parents can really have an impact in the culture of a school. Thank you-thank you-thank you!

In addition to the great turnout for our Fall Festival, we also had a lot of parent support during our APEX Fun Run fundraiser. This great event goes well beyond just raising money. APEX members came out and provided our kids with tons of motivation and a weeks worth of mini lessons on character building. After a week of building their minds and spirits, student’s then had the chance to build their bodies by running. Its always amazing to me how much fun they have by just running. Thanks to all of our volunteers, we truly appreciate it.

Finally, I wanted to also thank the few parents that came out for our first Military Coffee. Not being as familiar with military life myself, I was immediately struck by how powerful the stories were. It was during this meeting that I realized what a great opportunity McMillin Elementary had for becoming a hub of support for our military families. Liaison’s from our military branches came out and shared the different resources available and they promised to come out again, continuing the support. Most importantly families were able to meet other families, widening the support network needed. With nearly 20% of our families being in the military, I encourage you to attend our next meeting on Nov. 12 immediately after school begins.

Coming up on Friday Oct. 24 I invite you to join us on our playground for our Red Ribbon assemblies. Rumor has it we may even have a helicopter landing on our field!

Here’s hoping everyone has a great week!