This week at McMillin

img_0520After spending a snowy week with my two boys over Thanksgiving, I thought about how much I wanted to give this growing young adults advice after advice. I worry, and I want them to be the best they can be. How are your grades? You are not eating healthy? Are you working out? Are you going studying enough? Are you spending too much money? As you can imagine, when I ask these type of questions, they just stop talking to me and I get the “ya”. So I caught myself and instead I told them how proud I was every chance I got.

This is the questions that I posed to teachers this week. As a parent, you may think about substituting “my child” for “students”.

“We learn with best from positive feedback, academically and emotionally. How much positive feedback do you give to your students? What about the students that are quiet and always good? Are there students that don’t get any positive feedback from you?”

What do you notice if you only gave positive feedback for a week?

Make sure your positive feedback is frequent and specific.

  • What did the student do well?
  • What is great about their work?
  • What effort did they put in?
  • What challenges did they face in completing their work?
  • What did they do to make a difference to others or to their learning?

Monday, November 28

  • VAPA Kinder & 4th (PE)

Tuesday, November 29

  • VAPA 4th & 2nd

Wednesday, November 30

  • VAPA 5th& 1st
  • Student Council (12:20-1:00)

Thursday, December 1

  • VAPA 6th & 3rd

Friday, December 2

  • VAPA TK& GATE

Future Dates

  • December 7th and 8th – PTA Holiday Store
  • December 15th – Winter Sing at Calvery Chapel